The Joy of Reading

When I first started this blog, it was supposed to be a way for me to communicate with others my thoughts on the books that I read. I even took the initiative to find sites that were giving books away to people who would only write a review of the book. I have joined three of these sites, and only write reviews for two. (The other decided that it would match me with the preferences that I checked – and they only allowed me to check two. So I guess I’m not a match for them. Oh well). I’m not complaining, I love reading, But this past week, I just finished three books, have written the review for two and posted only one . ( The other one I had to wait because the book hasn’t been released yet.) So as I was working really hard to get these books completed and prepare the reviews, I had a thought, “this isn’t what  I had in mind”. And it’s not. So I have decided that for the first week of May I am only going to read for the sake of reading.  There are three more books that I have to read for a review, but they’re not due soon so they will wait. 

But as I read, I am also going to be thinking of ways to improve my reviews. For one of the sites they have a format that they prefer the reviews to be written in, but for the rest I think it’s time that I break out my creative license. For the most part, if I give a good review it’s a book that I would pass along, and have enjoyed. But I am not sure if that message comes across in my reviews. So, I’m going to get creative. Honestly, it is one of the reasons that I wanted to start reviewing books in the first place. So don’t freak out if you don’t hear from me as often, or if you hear more from me than you want. It’s okay, but hey leave a comment and tell me what you think work and what doesn’t.  Input is always welcome, but don’t be offended if I don’t use it. Now I’ve got to go to my day job (or rather night job).

Always Shine,

Starr

Leave a Reply

