From the Editor’s Desk August 4,2013

Image

I have decided to do things a bit differently, in the hopes of making more progress in my challenges, reviews and personal collections. I like the idea of having a theme, but I found that I still got distracted by the piles of books that continued to grow and that didn’t necessarily fit into the month’s theme. Yes, I know that perhaps I claim failure I should try it a couple of more times. But, in reality this is the best time to play around since I have a small break in classes. So this month, I am going to set a monthly reading goal according to reviews and challenges.

    • Challenge Books
      • Aesop’s Fables
      • The Great Gatsby
      • Blue Diablo

    • Netgalley
      • The 13th Tribe by Robert Liparulo
      • The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

    • Edelweiss
      • Gameboard of the Gods by Richelle Mead
      • Angel’s Ink by Jocelyn Drake

    • Penguin
      • Seven for a Secret by Lyndsay Faye
      • A Working Theory of Love by Scott Hutchins

    • Goodreads
      • 11/22/63 by Stephen King

    • Personal Review Request
      • The New Orleans Way by Liz Newman

    • Personal Collection
      • Waking the Witch by Kelley Armstrong

  • Print Reviews
    • Grace in the Maybe by Katie Savage

    • While I am hopeful that I will be able to get through all of these books in August, this is a trial. So I will be doing progress updates and at the end of the month I will see how many I actually made it through. There are a couple of books that I have carried over from July’s reading that may also affect how many I get through. I am okay with that.

      Book Haul

      Purchased:

      Nothing

      Library:

      Still working through what I have already

      Review:

      Touched by Death by Dale Mayer (NG)

      Hover by Melissa West (NG)

      Well, that’s all for me. Leave a link or comment and tell me what your reading plans are!

      Always Shine!

  • 2 thoughts on “From the Editor’s Desk August 4,2013

    1. I like your plan… I am in a similar boat… I keep trying to plan out what I’m going to read, but then something else comes along and I want to read that, etc. The fact of the matter is that I need to just take an hour (or so) and read each day – especially now that I’m on break for a little bit. I also have a huge list of books that I have read that I want to write reviews for … Sigh. Anyway, good luck on your plan! I look forward to hearing about your progress!

      • Thanks! It’s a work in progress, and I have tried lots of things that don’t work out the way that I would like. I like the freedom of reading whatever I want, but in the end very few review books got read. But that’s mainly because they’re on the kindle so out of sight out of mind. I’m hoping this way I start clearing out my kindle. (Especially since it’s been wonky, I don’t want it to die with thousands of unread books on it that I won’t be able to get back.) I’m enjoying my break.

    Leave a Reply

    