What am I going to be reading?

I have one more week of classes left and then I have my winter break. I will be studying for tests, preparing activities for the afterschool program and creating emergency lesson plans for my substitute bag of tricks. But it also means that I will have a lot more free time on my hands. Which translates to more writing time and more reading time. I haven’t been too concerned with my fun reading, and tried to focus more on school. Which is why I still haven’t finished The Shining. But, now that there is time coming up for me, I can’t help but think what do I want to read next. I have a whole list of books that I want to read, a whole slew of books in the review pile as well as challenge books that I started with very good intentions. I have already thought about my reading goals for 2014 and I am still trying to come up with realistic writing goals.
That being said, I think that I want to focus on some challenge books. I mean so far this year, I have read only 1 real challenge book –The Great Gatsby. Yes I know that I have read some books for Red House Books Netgalley challenge, but that is truthfully because it’s a crossover challenge. There are three challenges that I am participating in (and hosting for a reader of 1) and that’s the Banned Book Challenge, the 1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die Challenge and the Women of Genre Fiction (Hosted by Worlds Without End). That will be my December reading plan, and of course other books may find their way onto the pile and that’s okay. Sometime this week, I will do a post of the books that I’ve selected to read from each of these challenges. Until then -Happy Reading!

Always Shine

3 thoughts on “What am I going to be reading?

  1. Wow, Starr! When do you sleep. I admire your ambition. The Shining is one of my favorites. King is awesome. Have you read The Talisman by him and Peter Straub? It’s one of the most amazing books I’ve ever read (at least 13 times!). Whenever I hit writer’s block, I get it out and read it again and it always breaks me through the wall. Keep up the good work. I look forward to reading about what you’re up to.

    • Sleep? That’s a real thing? It seems like it’s crazy to try to do everything but when I get a lot of breathing room, I end of missing the craziness. I have not read the Talisman, but it is on my TBR pile.

      • I also have The Talisman on audio (unabridged), which I’ve listened to, over the years, at least six times. Am I crazy or just inspired. Can’t wait to hear what you think of The Talisman.

Leave a Reply

