Looking Back and Look Forward

It’s that time of year, where people all over the world begin to evaluate their lives and see what kind of changes that they want to make. No one looks at the new year and say, yes I’d like to do the same thing that I did last year. And the answer always seems to be to make new year resolutions. But honestly, I never keep mine. So I have decided to stop making them.

Last year, I started the year with the hopes of growing my blog following but I knew it would be slow. I had made the decision to not let myself get stressed out with blogging and to read at a pace that was comfortable and realistic for me. It sounds good, right? In reality, what it looked like was more like an abandoned blog. Oh I read, and I even wrote up some reviews. But, it wasn’t anything consistent. Which, is a disservice to the authors who have sent me a copy of their books. That isn’t fair. In truth, it’s not that my heart wasn’t in it. I just had school and work and other things that pulled me away. Looking at 2014, I know that there are still those things that will be dividing my attention. But, I will be more consistent with this blog. That is my goal. That is something that I am making a conscious effort to work on. If I try something and it doesn’t work I will simply change it, instead of waiting for the time that it works. But let’s see what happened in 2013.

A Year in Review:

Total Books Read: 87 out of 85!

Favorite Book of 2013: To Kill a Mockingbird

I am not sure what it is about this reading but for the first time ever there is only one favorite read.

Book that I have on my shelf that I wish that I have read and still haven’t : (Well this is actually a long list, but I will do the top 7)

A. Waking the Witch by Kelley Armstrong – Actually, it’s the rest of the Otherworld Series, I have the final three books, and I want to read them. I’m just not ready to say good-bye yet.

B. The Fallen Kingdom series By Morgan Rhodes (Yes I have both books, pre-ordered them, had the second for review and have yet to get to it)

C. Finn Finnegan by Darby Karchut (No excuses for this one)

D. Divergent Trilogy by Veronica Roth

E. Escape from Furnace series by Alexander Gordon Smith

F. The Game by Barry Lyga (Yes, another pre-order that I couldn’t wait for and still haven’t read).

G.Brown Girl in the Ring by Nalo Hopkinson

Most Disappointing Read: Freedom Stone by Jeffrey Kluger

Book that took the longest to finish: A Working Theory of Love by Scott Hutchins

Challenge that I “participated” in: In which I signed up for, or started, but didn’t complete>

Women of Genre Fiction sponsored by Worlds Without End

Banned Books

1001 Books to Read Before You Die 

Netgalley Challenge sponsored by Red House Books

Looking Ahead

I am not going to make some ambitious goals that sound amazing but sucks on the follow through. I know that I will be more consistent with posting on the blog.
I know that I will make more of an effort to read more review books and challenge books.
My Goodreads Reading challenge will be to read 100 books, and I am confident I can surpass this number.

My Reading Goals for 2014:
Finish 6 series that I’ve started.
Read 4 books for each of the challenges I am participating in (Women of Genre Fiction, Banned Books, 1001 Books)
Clear Print Review pile and reduce the Netgalley and Edelweiss Review Piles
Read more graphic Novels
*Actively Participate in Challenges*

My Writing Goals for 2014:
Complete 2 drafts of WIP
Complete 6 Short Stories

My Blogging Goals for 2014:
Two posts a week
Regular Diversity Posts

What are your reading/blogging/writing goals for 2014? Share in the comments!

Always Shine!

Leave a Reply

