Review: Grace in the Maybe

Review: Grace in the Maybe by Katie Savage

 Formerly Known as: Whirlybirds and Ordinary Times: Reflections on Faith and the Changing of Seasons

November 6, 2012- Howard Books

240 Pages

Adult, Nonfiction, Christian Living

Source: Howard Books

 I was given a copy of this book, free, in exchange for my honest opinion.

Goodreads

 

Okay, I don’t know what I expected from this book. I can’t honestly tell you what this book is about. It was interesting and I enjoyed the casual writing voice. But it was more of a fluff read, there wasn’t any real meat to it I am not saying that I didn’t enjoy it because I did. While there were moments that I grabbed a nugget of wisdom, most of the time I spent wondering what the point of the book was.

While the voice is authentic and funny, it didn’t remind me of a pastor’s wife, and I don’t consider that a bad thing. It was a great concept, it was the execution that I struggled with. While the writing wasn’t chaotic, it didn’t seem to have a sense of organization. It seemed like a lot of thoughts, which were fleshed out and developed in and of itself, were completely random.

I can’t recommend it blanketly, because I am not sure of the audience. And while there are themes and questions books attempt to answer, these were not clearly defined. But it isn’t a bad book. I laughed at moments and there were some profound moments that made me dig a little bit more.

Always Shine!

 

 

Upcoming Posts: Sunday Share, Mini-Review Monday

Currently Reading:

Year of the Demon By Steve Bein

Aesop’s Fable by Aesop

Why Our Children Can’t Read by Diane McGuiness

Love Sucks by Melissa Francis

Leave a Reply

