Review: The Passage by Justin Cronin

The Passage by Justin Cronin
The Passage #1
June 8,2010 –Random House Books
784 pages
Vampires, Adult, Fiction, Science Fiction/Fantasy
Source: Netgalley, Random House
I was given a copy of this digital galley, free, in exchange for my honest opinion.

From Goodreads:
An epic and gripping tale of catastrophe and survival, The Passage is the story of Amy–abandoned by her mother at the age of six, pursued and then imprisoned by the shadowy figures behind a government experiment of apocalyptic proportions. But Special Agent Wolgast, the lawman sent to track her down, is disarmed by the curiously quiet girl—and risks everything to save her. As the experiment goes nightmarishly wrong, Wolgast secures her escape—but he can’t stop society’s collapse. And as Amy walks alone, across miles and decades, into a future dark with violence and despair, she is filled with the mysterious and terrifying knowledge that only she has the power to save the ruined world.
My thoughts:

It took me a while to make it through this book (almost as long as it did to write the review). It wasn’t because it was a bad book; it was just a huge book. The further along I’ve made it through it, the more that I realized how connected everything was. Though in the end I thoroughly enjoyed this book, I have to admit that there were moments that I found it a bit slow.
Most of the time I am able to find a character, a good guy or a bad guy, that stands out- one that I’ve really loved or really hated. I can’t say that there is one like that for me here. I would say that this story is basically about Amy and her destiny to save the world from vampire-like creatures. Yes there are other lives that intertwine with and impact hers, but none that made an overwhelming impression. At least not individually. Even from the beginning lives were connected and playing out in ways that we were not aware of. So where this story may be about Amy, and where there are lots of characters and roles to play, this is really about surviving and what it will take for a community to keep going. This does not mean that the characters lack depth. Quite the opposite, each is fleshed out with a unique back-story and a unique voice.
The Passage feels as if it is only the beginning. Yes, there is some resolution to the problems that come up in the story, but it doesn’t feel settled. This would normally be a problem for me, but it really is the beginning. I am looking forward to what happens, and I am glad that I don’t have to wait for The Twelve since it is out.

5 stars *****

Always Shine.

One thought on “Review: The Passage by Justin Cronin

Leave a Reply

