Review: Grim Space by Luke Scull

    The Grim Company (The Grim Company, #1)

Grim Company by Luke Scull

(GrIm Company #1)

September 3, 2013-Roc

400 Pages – Adult, Fiction, Fantasy

Source: Penguin First Reads

I was given a copy of this digital galley, free, in exchange for my honest opinion.

http://www.lukescull.com/

Twitter: @Luke_scull

From Goodreads:

The Gods are dead. The Magelord Salazar and his magically enhanced troops, the Augmentors, crush any dissent they find in the minds of the populace. On the other side of the Broken Sea, the White Lady plots the liberation of Dorminia, with her spy mistresses, the Pale Women. Demons and abominations plague the Highlands. The world is desperately in need of heroes. But what they get instead are a ragtag band of old warriors, a crippled Halfmage, two orphans and an oddly capable manservant: the Grim Company.

My Thoughts:

I was immediately hooked by the premise and I was optimistic about what I would think about this title. Though it wasn’t exactly what I was expecting, I did really enjoy it.  I really enjoyed the characters. In the end, there were quite a few characters that I wanted to know more about. I was amused with D. Cole. He was a bumbling hero at best and a rambling cocky fool at worst. In the end. B. Kayne, the highlander that just wouldn’t stop. There were moments that I found myself wondering about him and his story and then feeling a bit sorry for him when I learned more about him.  I could go on and talk about the characters individually, but that would make for a really long review. If I could change one thing it would be Salazaar, I think it would be nice to know more about him. Because in the end he really isn’t who I thought him to be. I am not the only one surprised by this. It is not clear if he is truly the bad guy that we thought him to be or of he is a good guy gone astray.

There are things that happen at the end that left me with a “what” on the edge of my tongue.  At the same time I am satisfied. Only because I now know that this is the beginning of something more.  There is so much connectedness going on that the full story has not completely unfolded.  There is also Isaac’s hint that there is more going on than anyone suspects.  In one word I would say Grim Company  is awesome.

5 Stars *****

Always Shine!

Leave a Reply

