Review: Merlin’s Blade

Merlin's Blade (The Merlin Spiral, #1)

Merlin’s Blade by Robert Treskillard

(Merlin’s Spiral #1)

April 16, 2013 – HarperCollins

432 Pages- Young Adult, Fantasy, Christian, Historical

http://www.kingarthur.org.uk/feastinghall/

Source: BookLook Bloggers (Formerly Booksneeze)

I was given a copy of this title, free, in exchange for my honest opinion.

Goodreads: A strange meteorite.
A deadly enchantment.
And only Merlin can destroy it.

A meteorite brings a mysterious black stone whose sinister power ensnares everyone except Merlin, the blind son of a swordsmith. Soon, all of Britain will be under its power, and he must destroy the stone—or die trying.

My Thoughts:

This book had a lot of self confidence, as it should since it was bloody awesome! I was expecting something quick and sort of interesting. What I read was a amazing fantasy that held me captivated from the beginning to the end. There is so much that I liked about this that I’m not really sure if I can write a review that will do this story justice.  So I will talk about the things that stuck out to me, and try not to be annoying about it.

Characters: There were quite a few characters. Most were active and in the forefront of the story. But, there were a couple of characters that existed in the shadows. I did confuse the shadow characters a couple of times. With so many characters it would seem that flatness would be inevitable. That wasn’t an issue here each character was flushed and developed.  The good guys were definitely 3 dimensional-flawed and realistic. The bad guys were shrouded in mystery. I still have questions about Morganthu, but that’s okay.

Setting: Treskillard did an awesome job at grounding us in the story, as well as in the time and place. It was very easy to picture the land as well as hear the accent of the people (or at least what I imagine them the sound like).

 Resolution: It didn’t end in a cliff hanger. But, while the majority of the story  has come to some sort of closure, there is still so much going on. I can’t wait to get into the next book.  For the first book in a trilogy, I think that it was great.  It ended leaving me wanting more -so much more-without leaving me feeling as if it wasn’t resolved.

I definitely recommend this book to anyone who is a big fan of awesome stories, fantasies and/or the legend of King Arthur.

5 Stars *****

Always Shine!

Leave a Reply

