Review: Shattered by Kevin Hearne

Shattered (The Iron Druid Chronicles, #7)

Shattered By Kevin Hearne

Iron Druid Chronicles #7 

June 17, 2014- Del Rey

335 Pages –Adult, Fiction, Fantasy, Science Fiction, Series, Irish Mythology

Facebook: Yes

Twitter: @KevinHearne, Owen Kennedy @archdruidowen, Oberon @IrishOberon, Atticus O’Sullivan @IronDruid


Source: Personal Copy

From Goodreads:

For nearly two thousand years, only one Druid has walked the Earth—Atticus O’Sullivan, the Iron Druid, whose sharp wit and sharp sword have kept him alive as he’s been pursued by a pantheon of hostile deities. Now he’s got company.
Atticus’s apprentice Granuaile is at last a full Druid herself. What’s more, Atticus has defrosted an archdruid long ago frozen in time, a father figure (of sorts) who now goes by the modern equivalent of his old Irish name: Owen Kennedy.
And Owen has some catching up to do.
Atticus takes pleasure in the role reversal, as the student is now the teacher. Between busting Atticus’s chops and trying to fathom a cell phone, Owen must also learn English. For Atticus, the jury’s still out on whether the wily old coot will be an asset in the epic battle with Norse god Loki—or merely a pain in the arse.
But Atticus isn’t the only one with daddy issues. Granuaile faces a great challenge: to exorcise a sorcerer’s spirit that is possessing her father in India. Even with the help of the witch Laksha, Granuaile may be facing a crushing defeat.
As the trio of Druids deals with pestilence-spreading demons, bacon-loving yeti, fierce flying foxes, and frenzied Fae, they’re hoping that this time, three’s a charm.

My Thoughts: Oh my goodness! I love Kevin Hearne and Atticus, Oberon Granuile and Orlaith! Yes, I am even beginning to love the grumpy pants Owen! I can’t believe that I discovered this series by accident and am very glad that I was keeping up with the blogs I followed (at least then I did). Everyone has their favorite author(s), and I do too. But, just because you are a favorite it doesn’t give you a pass to go to the top of my reading pile (which is insanely huge right now). So far, I have only had one author who I considered a D.E.A.R. author (Drop Everything And Read) and that is the lovely and amazing Darby Karchut. My friends, Kevin Hearne has been added to this very exclusive list.

In this part of the series, while everyone has come face to face with death multiple times, no one is safe.  The reality of Atticus’ antics is coming back to bite him, and he realizes that the price he must pay and the damage that he caused is deeper and steeper than he was aware. While he may want to right all of the wrongs and meet violence with peace, he quickly learns that it not always possible. Harm and hurt have wrapped themselves around the heart of people he once considered friends. He may not have intentionally hurt someone, he finds that he has brought tremendous grief to close friends.  This discovery and the fallout are heavy enough and broke my heart. But that wasn’t all that happened.

Granuile has her own separate adventure, one that breaks her heart over and over again. I didn’t know how well she would do on her own since this was her first solo act. She made me proud of her strength and her compassion. But I was not prepared for what happened to her, mainly because I was expecting something like that to happen to Atticus. She may not be sure why the elementals call her “fierce druid”, but I understand. I understand it completely. Just as Hounded was the introduction to Atticus the Iron Druid, Shattered was Granuile’s coming out story.

Then there was Owen, Atticus’ lovely archdruid. I was a little nervous about meeting him. This is book 7 so any character that is introduced at this point (at least in my way of thinking) is either there to deliver a message and then to be killed shortly or is destined to be an integral part of some aspect of the story. If Owen is to be killed soon, then how cruel is the hand of fate to him to rescue him and then kill him. If Owen is to become an important character, than he has a lot to live up to, especially if he is to stand at Atticus’ side.  Atticus and Granuile and their hounds fit together, not just as a couple but as characters on the same journey. They compliment each other well and bring a since of balance and harmony to the story. Even at the end, Owen’s fate is unclear to me. However, I enjoy Owen’s grumpiness and the growth that he has undergone in such a short amount of time.

This time the story is told differently than the rest of the series. This is told in the alternating voices of Atticus, Owen and Granuile (another reason I believe Owen is meant to be an important character). This is a hard skill for author’s to demonstrate. It is way too easy for the characters to blur into one being instead of being a distinct individual. Hearne pulls this off without any snags. It was nice to be in each character’s head, it gave more life and depth to what was currently happening as well as to the overall story.

I loved this book as much as the others, if not more. If you have not started this series, it is worth reading, but you have to start at the beginning. I promise you won’t be disappointed.


5 stars *****


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s