Review: The Stag Lord

The Stag Lord (Bannerman Boru, #1)

The Stag Lord by Darby Kaye

Bannerman Boru #1

December 2, 2014 – Spence City

376 pages – Adult, Urban Fantasy, Fiction, Series

http://www.darbykarchut.com

Facebook: yes

Twitter: @DarbyKarchut

Source: Publisher, as part of the Blog Tour

I was given a copy of this book, free, in exchange for my honest review. 

From Goodreads:

“On the run across America from a vengeful shape-shifter, Bannerman “Bann” Boru has only one thing on his mind: keeping himself and his young son, Cor, alive.

At any cost.
Until he meets Shay Doyle, healer and member of a secret group of immortal Celtic warriors, the Tuatha de Danaan, living in modern-day Colorado. When Cor is injured, Bannerman is forced to accept her help. He quickly realizes that the golden-haired healer is shield-maiden tough and can hold her own onthe field of battle with the big boys. And Shay soon discovers that there is more to Bann than meets the eye.
Now, with the shape-shifter Cernunnos teaming up with the local pack of Fir Bolgs (Bronze Age creatures with a nasty taste for children), Bannerman, Shay, her wolf-dog Max, and the rest of the Doyle clan must figure out how to battle one insane god.”

My Thoughts”

Boom! Wow! Holy Hell! I could go on, but I won’t. Once again, I have picked up a book by an amazing and favorite author, who has not disappointed or skimped on the emotional investment. Not only am I pleased with the story and characters, but this time around, Ms. Kaye, has inspired me to get off my arse and get to writing. (I read this while participating in Nanowrimo.)

In case you didn’t know, Darby Kaye is the one and the same as Darby Karchut. (Name change was to keep her adult books separate from her young adult books). This is her first foray into the adult fiction, and she jumps in and makes a splash immediately. I am chomping at the bit for the second book, even though it feels as if I just closed the cover of the first one. But, I have gotten ahead of myself.

The first thing that stands out to me is the relationship between Bann and his son, Cor.Brought closer together by being chased by a crazed god, Cernunnos. It is touching and beautiful, strong and inspiring. The Irish mythology is very strong in this story. It is obvious that Kaye knows what she is talking about.  The second stand out part is the Bann and Shay. You have two warriors who compliment each other instead of compete or out-lead the other. In this relationship, Bann is the man and Shay is definitely female. But there is strength in the roles that they fit into with each other. There is a partnership and companionship. But there is also passion. Hot and toe curling steamy passion. I had to fan myself to keep myself from getting overheated. 

The Doyle clan is one tight family. Not just blood family, but fey family as well. Their roots and love run deep. Within this story, you will fin familial love, romantic love, strength bravery and honor. This story pulls you in and refuses to let you go. Even talking about it brings you back to this world. and just when you think it’s over- it’s not! Everyone has a moment where they get to step up and confront the one thing that scares the piss out of them. But the character that I am most proud of would have to be Cor. The end of the story is a whole new level of What the hell?! And that’s about all I can say about the ending without giving anything away. I wanted to ask Darby what she was thinking, and why and how could you? But, I trust her. 

 Again that ending. I have mixed feelings about it. Definitely surprised. Definitely cringing, not in a bad way, but because of the who and what it means for everyone else. Anticipation, because I need the second book in my hands  right now!!

5 stars *****

Always Shine!

One thought on “Review: The Stag Lord

Leave a Reply

