The Stag Lord Blog Tour

In Case you have not heard. Darby Kaye (AKA Darby Karchut young adult author of the Griffin series and Finn Series) has a new adult fiction book, The Stag Lord,  out in just one more day!!!!  And she was kind enough to stop by for a brief interview. I was one of the lucky ones who had the opportunity to read it early, so I will follow up this post with my review. But first, let’s look at what the book is about.

The Stag Lord (Bannerman Boru, #1)

The Stag Lord by Darby Kaye

Bannerman Boru #1

December 2, 2014 – Spence City

376 pages – Adult, Urban Fantasy, Fiction, Series

http://www.darbykarchut.com

Facebook: yes

Twitter: @DarbyKarchut

From Goodreads:

“On the run across America from a vengeful shape-shifter, Bannerman “Bann” Boru has only one thing on his mind: keeping himself and his young son, Cor, alive.

At any cost.
Until he meets Shay Doyle, healer and member of a secret group of immortal Celtic warriors, the Tuatha de Danaan, living in modern-day Colorado. When Cor is injured, Bannerman is forced to accept her help. He quickly realizes that the golden-haired healer is shield-maiden tough and can hold her own onthe field of battle with the big boys. And Shay soon discovers that there is more to Bann than meets the eye.
Now, with the shape-shifter Cernunnos teaming up with the local pack of Fir Bolgs (Bronze Age creatures with a nasty taste for children), Bannerman, Shay, her wolf-dog Max, and the rest of the Doyle clan must figure out how to battle one insane god.”

If this book doesn’t sound awesome to you, I don’t think I can call you friend.  But, you can remedy that by ordering the book, getting it from the library or some other legal means of getting your hands on a copy and checking it out for yourself.  If you want to get to know Darby, check out the interview below. (She’s the trifecta-astounding awesome and amazing!)

SKG: What was the inspiration for your new novel?

 DK: It is based on a mix of Bronze Age and medieval history, as well as Celtic mythology. The Stag Lord and its sequel, Unholy Blue, is based on the Irish legend of the Tuatha Dé Danaan, immortal Fey warriors who are descendents of the war goddess, Danu. In my version, these exiles from ancient Éireann (and now living in modern-day Colorado) are engaged in an on-going battle with their ancient enemy, the goblins known as the Amandán.

The main character, Bannerman “Bann” Boru is the direct descendent of the High King of Ireland, Brian Boru (who was a real person and actually died 1,000 years ago this past April). Bann, and his young son, Cor, are also Tuatha Dé Danaan. They are on the run from the vengeful shapeshifter, Cernunnos (a well-know Celtic demi-god). By a twist of fate, they end up in Colorado and meet Shay Doyle, the Healer of the local clan. And thus, the tale unfolds…

SKG: This one is for adults. Did you find it easier or harder to write for adults?

DK:  I wish I could say one is easier than the other, but I find writing a gut-punching task. Story telling is story telling, with all the problems inherent in the art form, whether you are writing for teens or for adults. I always tell readers that the first draft is bloody. I hate it. Hate. It. I feel like I am flailing my way through a bog. It is such a relief to reach the end, no matter how sucky the rough draft is. That’s when the real work begins. Now, I can start adding layers to the skeleton until I have a living creature known as a book.

SKG: What were some of the challenges that you found while writing The Stag Lord?

DK: My biggest challenge was to go deeper. To find the very bottom of the cess pool. To make the good guys have faults, and the bad guys have admirable qualities. The other challenge was to turn off my Middle Grade/YA editor when I was writing the sex scenes. Yeah. That. I think I am getting the hang of it, though…

SKG: What were some of the joys that you found while writing The Stag Lord?

DK: Okay, I know I’m supposed to say it was the romance or the battle scenes or the underlying Celtic mythology, and yes, those were a blast to explore. But the greatest joy was the scenes between Bann and his son, Cor. Tender or playful – yeah, those got to me. I find men (real men, not bad boy guys) who are fathers, and embrace that role with all the courage and power that comes with it, incredibly appealing.

SKG: While writing, was there a character that stood out and that you wish you could have spent more time with?  If so, what made him/her stand out?

Hugh and Ann, Shay’s uncle and aunt, and the co-leaders of the Doyle clan. They are a vibrant, sexy, mature couple that embrace all the joys and sorrows of life while being each other’s best friend. And Ann is a delightful flirt and keeps Bann on his toes.

SKG: What are the first 5 words that pop into your head when you think of The Stag Lord?

“Bannerman Boru: Warrior, Lover, Father.”

SKG: Quickly, top 3 reasons that we should read The Stag Lord?

DK: Sexy men with Irish accents.

Women who understand and embrace the power of the Feminine.

A boy and his dog.

SKG: Anything else you want us to know?

DK: Only that I have never found a more gracious group of people than writers/readers (see Starr Griggs) From the early days of my Griffin series to now, I am constantly stunned by how supportive readers and writers are of each other. The rest of the world could learn a lot from us, ye ken?

See what I mean? This lady here is pure awesomeness. I am lucky that I was randomly selected to read her book Griffin Rising. it has been one adventure after another and I have yet to be disappointed by anything she’s written.

Check back in a bit for my review!!!!

Always Shine!

One thought on “The Stag Lord Blog Tour

Leave a Reply

