Review: Half Bad by Sarah Green

half bad cover

Half Bad by Sarah Green

Half Bad Trilogy #1

March 4, 2014 – Viking Books for Young Readers

394 pages – young adult, fiction, fantasy, paranormal

http://www.halfbadworld.com/

Twitter: @Sa11eGreen

Source: Netgalley

I received a copy of a digital galley, free, in exchange for my honest opinion. 

From Goodreads:

Wanted by no one.
Hunted by everyone.

Sixteen-year-old Nathan lives in a cage: beaten, shackled, trained to kill. In a modern-day England where two warring factions of witches live amongst humans, Nathan is an abomination, the illegitimate son of the world’s most terrifying and violent witch, Marcus. Nathan’s only hope for survival is to escape his captors, track down Marcus, and receive the three gifts that will bring him into his own magical powers—before it’s too late. But how can Nathan find his father when there is no one safe to trust, not even family, not even the girl he loves?
Half Bad is an international sensation and the start of a brilliant trilogy: a gripping tale of alienation and the indomitable will to survive.

My Thoughts: 

*Disclaimer: I only finished about 90% of the book. *

     I typically try to finish books I’ve received for review in their entirety. You never know when an ending is going to redeem a book. But, I just couldn’t finish this one-despite the fact that I was really looking forward to reading this book.

    The entire book you’re waiting for something major to happen and that’s it. You are constantly waiting. Nathing needs his powers, but in 345 pages  he still doesn’t have them.  And you know what? I don’t care. About anything or anyone. I don’t care that he is overwhelmingly obsessed with Annalise (is that even her name?!) I don’t care that he is completely separated from his brother and sister  or that he’s being manipulated by just about everyone. Also, I had trouble imagining anything in my head because everything was poorly described-except for people’s eyes.

In short, I was very disappointed.

1 star *

Always Shine!

Leave a Reply

