Review: Halflings by Heather Burch

Halflings (Halflings, #1)

Halflings by Heather Burch 

Halflings #1

February 1, 2012 – Zondervan

288 pages – Young Adult, Fiction, Fantasy, Christian

http://www.heatherburchbooks.com/

Facebook: Yes

Twitter: @heatherburch

Source: Netgalley

I received a copy of a digital galley, free, in exchange for my honest opinion. 

From Goodreads: Discoveries

After being inexplicably targeted by an evil intent on harming her at any cost, seventeen-year-old Nikki finds herself under the watchful guardianship of three mysterious young men who call themselves halflings. Sworn to defend her, misfits Mace, Raven, and Vine battle to keep Nikki safe while hiding their deepest secret and the wings that come with.
A growing attraction between Nikki and two of her protectors presents a whole other danger. While she risks a broken heart, Mace and Raven could lose everything, including their souls. As the mysteries behind the boys powers, as well as her role in their earthly mission, unfold, Nikki is faced with choices that will affect the future of an entire race of heavenly beings, as well as the precarious equilibrium of the earthly world.”

My Thoughts: Wow! This is a title that I’ve had for a while for review, and everything seemed to get in the way. I am glad that I was finally able to pick it up. I am only a little okay with the ending; it’s not a cliff hanger, but it doesn’t have a full ending.  It didn’t take me long to get lost in the story or the characters.  I like the halfling trio (Mace, Raven and Vine), even Will and Zero. But I don’t think that I know them  all that well. It was definitely an introduction, but I am reserving my full opinion of each for later. There is something that thrums deeper within each one, they all have their own story to tell. The female trio halflings came into the story late so they don’t feel completely integrated into the story

I was left with way more questions than answers, more than a reader should.  Despite this, I still enjoyed the story. I am curious about what is going to happen and if they’ll figure everything out in time. Sometimes with other books, I feel like I know what’s going on before the characters did and that’s annoying. That’s not the case here.

The story and characters all have that “beginning of a series” feeling. But knowing that the trilogy is complete, I am okay with that.

4 stars ****

Always Shine!

Leave a Reply

