September TBR Pile and what’s coming up

Well I used to do these posts but then stopped after I realized that I either felt too much pressure to get through so many books or found myself in a reading funk and changed up everything.  I am currently reading 4 books, and as I talk about them I will tell you how far into it I am.

The Sea of Monsters (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, #2)

First, I am reading this book to my son. Yes, I am aware that he is barely nine months old and will not be able to fully enjoy it. But, we like big books and it is mainly his bedtime story.  He does focus on the reading a little bit more than the board books and children’s book. We are only a fourth of the way into this one.

Zahrah the Windseeker

I am reading this one just for fun. I believe that the author may be one I picked out for one of the challenges (I’ll check on that later), but I needed to read a book that I want to just because. So I picked this one.  And I am about half way through it and I am enjoying it so far.

  • I checked and this book actually falls under two of my challenges. It fits in my Bookshelf Reads challenge and the 2014 Speculative Fiction by Authors of Color Challenge that was hosted by Worlds Without End. (I am not sure what 2015’s challenge is as I have carried over the incomplete challenges from 2014). Here is the link for their current challenges in case you want to participate or learn more about them: Worlds Without End Roll Your Own Reading Challenge

Merlin's Shadow (The Merlin Spiral #2)

This is one that I have for review, and I like it a lot. But just like the first one it’s kind of dense. It is not a quick and easy read but it is so worth it. This is a netgalley title. I am halfway through it, and at time I’m impatient with it but know that I will enjoy the journey.

Saturn Run

This is the other review book that I have, it is a digital copy. I got this book from First Reads. I have been a longtime fan of Sandford and this step into science fiction made me want to revisit him again. I am enjoying it, but since it is digital I usually reserve this one for night time, I don’t need a light and so I won’t keep my baby awake. So it’s slow going because of that. I think I am only a fourth of the way through this book, but it’s a lot better than I was anticipating.

As you can see, I have an eclectic reading habit. But I have to say that all of the books that I am currently reading are excellent, and I am sure if I had huge chunks of time to devote to reading I would get through them much faster.  But we all do what we can where we can, right? I have a small growing stack of review books that I will be working my way through, so I will only do one of these posts as I make my way through the books. (I have found that talking about the books that I have sitting around waiting to be read only increases my book ADD so I focus only on what’s currently in my hand.)

I will be posting some reviews too. Here’s what’s coming up:

Shadows by Ilsa J. Bick 

Seriously You Have to Eat by Adam Marsbach 

My Townie Heart by Diana Sperrazza

Guardian by Heather Burch

Always Shine!

Leave a Reply

