Review: Eve by Wm. Paul Young

Eve

Eve by Wm. Paul Young 

September 15 2015 – Howard Books

320 pages – Fiction, Adult, Religious, fantasy

Facebook: Yes

http://wmpaulyoung.com/

Source: The publisher

I was given a copy of this book, free, in exchange for my honest opinion. 

From Goodreads: The Shack shattered our limited perceptions about God. Evewill destroy harmful misconceptions about ourselves. From the author of the 25-million copy bestseller The Shackcomes a captivating new novel destined to be one of the most important and talked-about books of the decade. When a shipping container washes ashore on an island between our world and the next, John the Collector finds a young woman inside–broken, frozen, and barely alive. With the aid of Healers and Scholars, John oversees her recovery and soon discovers her genetic code connects her to every known human race. She is a girl of prophecy and no one can guess what her survival will mean. No one but Eve, Mother of the Living, who calls her daughter and invites her to witness the truth about her story–indeed, the truth about us all. Eve is a bold, unprecedented exploration of the Creation narrative, true to the original texts and centuries of scholarship, yet with breathtaking discoveries that challenge traditional misconceptions about who we are and how we’re made. As The Shack awakened readers to a personal, non-religious understanding of God, Eve will free us from faulty interpretations that have corrupted human relationships since the Garden of Eden. Eve opens a refreshing conversation about the equality of men and women within the context of our beginnings, helping us see each other as our Creator does–complete, unique, and not constrained to cultural rules or limitations. Thoroughly researched and exquisitely written, Eve is a masterpiece that will inspire readers for generations to come.

My Thoughts: I hate reading fiction books with any sort of expectation from the beginning or assuming that there’s a deeper story within it. It puts me in the mindset to see where it’s all going and how it all ties into that message. it makes it really hard to just experience the story. This is the mindset I had with I started Eve. I have an ARC and on the back it says “The Shack shattered our limited perceptions about God. Eve will destroy harmful misconceptions about ourselves.” So I was expecting a whole lot from this book. And, in my opinion, that is too heavy a burden for this book.  Now, I am assuming that the author’s goal is to bring people closer to God.  But he completely altered the story of Creation. I understand that this is a work of fiction, but it’s disturbing for anyone who knows this story well. But the boldness of this alteration makes it difficult to simply absorb the story and encounter any truths that may come about. At least it was for me. Could the reflections found in this story be found if Adam was not the cause of the fall or for allowing the snake in Eden?

I don’t think that it holds up to its claim and completely altering the story of creation was more distracting than good. But, as far as the story goes I liked it. I think it was a  really good fantasy. This is the first book by Young I have read, and based on Eve, I am interested in checking out the rest of his books.  I really like Lilly and John. I enjoyed the parallels between what Lilly was witnessing and what was happening in her time.  The ending had the potential to be a complete flop, and I was half expecting it to not work out or to end prematurely. But it was nicely done. Everything came together and was explained without devaluing or overwriting Lilly’s experience.

4 Stars ****

Always Shine!

Leave a Reply

