Review: My Townie Heart

My Townie Heart

My Townie Heart by Dianna Sperraza 

June 16, 2015 – Post Hill Press

Adult, Fiction

Facebook: Yes

Twitter: @mytownieheart

http://mytownieheart.com/

Source: Smith Publicity

I was given a copy of this title, free, in exchange for my honest review

To read what this book is about, from Goodreads, click here.

I always debate about what to do when I come across a book that I just can’t finish. And it really depends on the case. If I am the problem than I usually set it aside and come back to it when I can really read it. I try not to do this too often because I have book A.D.D.  But if there is something that is going on with the book, it is only fair to my readers, and to all of the authors who have trusted me to read their work and be honest to post a review -even if I don’t finish it. Sometimes the book gets in its own way and makes it difficult to enjoy. Sometimes the book and the reader are not compatible for whatever reason. I do not cross-post DNF reviews, but they can be found on this blog.

I was really hoping to enjoy this book. I had looked forward to getting in the mail and had even cracked it open when it arrived. I hate when someone offers me a book to review and I either can’t find anything to like about it, or I can’t finish it. But, I can only offer my honest opinion. I struggled with this one a  lot. So much so that I didn’t finish it. I stopped at about 60% of this book. I do try to finish all review books, because I never know when an ending may turn everything around.  If I had to describe this book in one word it would be apathetic. Regardless of what Laura was talking about; her sister being raped, or how she was cheating on her boyfriend, or her sister being pregnant it didn’t seem as if she cared. Yes, she was bothered by it, but there was this emotional void in the narrating. There wasn’t a reason for this void, or maybe I didn’t read long enough to understand the reasoning. If the main character, the narrator, of the story doesn’t care, then why should I?

DNF-no rating 

Always Shine!

Leave a Reply

