Review: Sorcerer of the Wildeeps

The Sorcerer of the Wildeeps

The Sorcerer of the Wildeeps by Kai Ashante WIlson

September 1, 2015 – Tor

Adult, Fiction, Science Fiction, Fantasy

Source: Louisville Free Public Library

DNF

To see what this book is about, check out the Goodreads summary here.

My Thoughts:

I heard about this book on Twitter. One of the authors, whose work I enjoy, made a comment about it. I can’t remember exactly what was said, or even which author it was at this point. But, nevertheless, I was so impressed that I had to get my hands on this book.

I so wanted to like this book. The summary sounds like it’s my kind of book. The author’s poetic command of the language pulled me in. But…. at some point there was disconnect and I didn’t finish. I have checked and I have noticed that I am on the other side of the majority, so maybe this book is beyond my skill set. But, I’m going to point out  the big issues that I had and leave it at that.  While the author demonstrates a lot of skill with the use of language and words. There are parts in the story where the language falls out of sync with everything.  It goes from using modern words in unusual tones to falling back to a vernacular that is all to similar to today. Which doesn’t sit well in the setting of the story.  It was also tough to follow the story, so there were parts that I simply read but did not understand. Which is okay, because a paragraph or two later things will start making sense again. There are details about the characters that I would not know if I had not read the summary on the back. You enter into the story and it’s assumed that you already know who and what the main characters are, which is okay but makes it difficult to connect to the characters.

I am not sure if the issues that I had with this book are just my issues or if they go deeper than that. I only know that I read as long as I could, but I was still not able to finish it. Maybe I should try it again?

Always Shine!

Leave a Reply

