Sunday Share (10/25)

book mail 2

I am back from my fall vacation and have finally finished with unpacking and all the things that come with coming home and getting back into the swing of things. The only thing that I have yet to do is catch back up on my review posts. But, I am happy to say that I did get a lot more reading done than I thought that I would. But that may have been helped by the ten-twelve hour car ride there and back, along with the mini trip to Florida.  While away I did get a few review books, and I did buy a few books. (I couldn’t not stop in the local bookstore.)

This is what I got this week:

3 books for review: 

The Impostor Queen by Sarah Fine (Edelweiss)

Hanover House by Brenda Novak (Netgalley)

The Devil’s Engine by Alexander Gordon Smith (Netgalley)

I Purchased:

The Death Factory (Penn Cage, #3.5)

The Death Factory (Penn Cage 3.5) by Greg Iles

The Chalk Cross

The Chalk Cross by Berthe Amoss

Summer of Discovery

Summer of Discovery by Melody Herr

Half of a Yellow Sun

Half of a Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

What the Dog Knows: Scent, Science, and the Amazing Ways Dogs Perceive the World

What the Dog Knows by Car Warren

Books I’ve Read This Week:

The Pawn by Steven James- I finished this shortly after my last post. I haven’t had the opportunity to pick up the second one in this series, but man I can’t wait!

How Do you Tuck in a Superhero by Rachel Balducci- I really enjoyed this read. Maybe it’s because I have a little boy of my own that I can relate to. Also some of the stories that she told are some that I see myself in given a few years or so.

The Stars Never Rise by Rachel Vincent- I have been wanting to read this for a while, and I am glad that I finally picked it up. It was a good start to the series and I can’t wait to get my hands on the next one.

Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordan- I am reading this series to my son, and we finished this one while on vacation. I enjoyed this one and have to say that this was a whole lot better than the movies. (Don’t trust the movies!)

Saturn Run by John Sandford- okay so I technically didn’t finish this one. I had another review book come up that’s due Tuesday so I had to put this one aside since it wasn’t going to be  a quick read. It is good but it’s thick and a bit dry (too technical for me). Since it’s a library book and has been requested by another patron, I will have to finish it on the next round.

Books I’m Currently Reading 

The Titan’s Curse by Rick Rordan- My son and I are continuing this series with the third book.

American Hunter: How Legendary Hunters Shaped America by Willie Robertson and William Doyle – This is a review book from the publisher. I am enjoying it, it’s peeked my interest in history in ways that school never did. It also helps that I can hear Willie’s voice as I read this.

(Un) Dead byTrinidad Giachino- This is review request from the author. I am a little late starting it, but it’s on my kindle so I am hoping that it’s back in working order. I literally just started it, and while I have forgotten what it’s about, I’m intriqued so far.

Well, that’s all for now.

Always Shine!

Leave a Reply

