Review: American Hunter: How Legendary Hunters Shaped America

American Hunter: How Legendary Hunters Shaped America

American Hunter: How Legendary Hunters Shaped America by Willie Robertson and William Doyle 

October 27, 2015 – Howard Books

272 Pages-  Adult, Nonfiction, History

http://duckcommander.com/

Twitter:@williebosshog

Facebook: yes

Source: Howard Books

I was given a copy of this title, free, in exchange for my honest opinion.

To read what this book is about, check out the Goodreads summary here.

My Thoughts: To be honest, given the opportunity to read anything by Willie Robertson I’m gonna take it. I think he’s funny and appears to be personable. So I was glad for the opportunity. Here is one thing that I found funny about this book, something that I didn’t expect. As I was reading this book, I heard it in Willie’s voice. Not sure why since he had an suthor buddy writing this book. But I thought it was an added bonus.

I enjoy reading books about history, but sometimes it’s bit dry. I enjoyed reading this. I was amazed at how much information that was compiled in such short chapters. A lot of research was put into this book, but it was not heavy. The stories were enjoyable as well as informative. I was able to get a good idea of how hunting progessed through time, as well as how the firearms used in hunting progressed. While there are mixed feelings about hunting, and this is defintiely a pro- hunting book, it did share the bad side of hunting. It discussed how game was hunted to near extinction as well as the efforts made for conservation.

Interest in hunting is growing today and not just as sport. A lot of people want to return to the nature of hunting and eating what they kill. Men as well as women. The book examined the history of hunting as well as the people who hunted. I learned a lot from of this book, and found things that I want to look further into. I also have to point out that this is definitely a book for guys. I keep an eye out for books that would interest my fiancee, who only reads books that are of interest to him, and this one grabbed his attention.

4 stars ****

Always Shine!

Leave a Reply

