Mini Review Monday 11/16

Two Boys Kissing

Two Boys Kissing by David Leviathan 

August 27, 2013 – Knopf Books

196 pages – Young Adult, Fiction,LGBT

Goodreads Summary

I heard a lot about this book and I was really hoping to like it, but I couldn’t really get into it. I marked this one as a DNF and I am not sure if i will ever go back and try again. I am not sure what bothered me about this book, but if I pick up this author again and enjoy it then maybe I will revisit this book.

DNF 

Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea (Between, #1)

Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea by April Genevieve Tucholke 

Between #1

August 15, 2013 – Dial

360 Pages – Young Adult, Fiction, Gothic

Goodreads Summary

In the beginning I liked this story. In the middle I was annoyed with the characters and the story line. In the end I’m simply indifferent. Violet turned out to be a weak character, undeserving of the title heroine. River was bad, almost evil but still not remorseful or redemptive. neely and Brodie came in -and felt like -a last minute plot point because the author couldn’t think of anything else to do. I cold have saved time not reading this. I wouldn’t recommend it and I will not be continuing the series.

1 Stars *

Gone, Baby, Gone

Gone Baby Gone by Dennis Lehane 

Kenzie & Gennaro #4

September 7, 2010 – William Morrow Paperbacks

464 Pages – Adult, Fiction, Mystery, Thriller

Goodreads Summary

Source: Personal Library

I really enjoyed this book. Even though I hated the ending, I loved the story. There were lots of twists and random bits that didn’t fit until the end. The characters were real. Sometimes in books or movies you have situations where the good guys had to get a little dirty, they still came out too clean. Not with this book. The good guys get dirty-filthy. In the end the decision is hard and doesn’t come without a cost. The bad guys are still bad, but you’re left with a better understanding of their motivation. The Port Mesa part seems insignificant, but it’s important in the end.

5 Stars *****

Always Shine!

Leave a Reply

