Review: Guardian by Heather Burch

Guardian (Halflings, #2)

Guardian by Heather Burch

Halflings #2 

October 8, 2012 – Blink

318 pages – young adult, fiction, fantasy, religious

Source: Edelweiss

Heather Burch

Facebook: yes

Twitter: @heatherburch

Disclaimer: I was given a copy of this title, free, in exchange for my honest opinion.

Goodreads Summary: Vigilance. The mission to safeguard Nikki Youngblood depends on the fragile alliance of two half-angel, half-human guardians, both struggling with intense feelings for the girl who has been assigned to their care. Mace, steadfast and deeply in love, wants to protect Nikki at all costs, while Raven’s loyalty to Nikki finds him advocating for her independence and battling his own darker inclinations. At the same time, Nikki finds it harder and harder to choose between the two heavenly beings she may never have. Dangers intensify, and tensions between Mace and Raven flare as the purpose of their mission becomes clear. Can their defenses hold up to master manipulator Damon Vessler and the powerful secret he holds regarding Nikki’s heritage? Can anyone protect Nikki from her true purpose and destiny?

My Thoughts:

So, I am completely over this love triangle. I can see howit is used to move the story along, but I personally think that it’s lazy on the author’s part. Also, because Nikki is waffling and can’t stand by any decision that she does make, I don’t like, I don’t trust her and I definitely don’t respect her. Does anyone? I have yet to read a love triangle that I enjoyed, so I won’t dwell on this one.

This is the second book in the series and it picks up where the first one left off – with more questions that need to be answered. The halflings have been called to join up with another group of halflings. It is an extension of their original journey but this allows them to learn more about Omega and Vesseler. But, the knowledge comes a little too late. Nikki is still trying to find her place amongst the halflings, as well as trying to not give in to the forbidden romance. When, once again, she seems to be doing more damage then good she leaves. She returns to Vesseler, who welcomes her with open arms. But there is more going on and Nikki is completely unaware of it.

The truth that is revealed towards the end is another lazy turn that the author takes. It sort of wraps things up with a nice bow, but there’s no buildup to this possibility. Yes Nikki reflects on events and situations  and reveals that – with hindsight- it should have been obvious. But, I don’t buy it.  Don’t get me wrong. I enjoyed Guardian enough to finish the trilogy, but I still think that the author took the lazy way when dealing with some issues.

3 stars ***

Always Shine!

Leave a Reply

