Mini Review(1) Nnedi Okonofor, Rachel Vincent and Steven James

Zahrah the Windseeker

Zahrah the Windseeker by Nnedi Okonofor 

February 18,2008 -HMH Books for Young Readers

320 Pages – Young Adult, Middle Grade, Fiction, Fantasy,

Diverse Reads 

http://www.nnedi.com/

Facebook: yes

Twitter: @Nnedi

Source: Personal Collection

Goodreads Summary

My Thoughts:Wow! I am only sorry that I allowed this book to sit on my shelf for so long without being read. This was more than a story about a girl who could fly. She learns to embrace who she is, even with all of her differences. She is set apart from her family, friends and her community. But, though she feels alone she is not the only one of her kind.  And she proves to be stronger and braver than she believes that she is. Zahrah starts out a shy and quiet girl who is afraid of pretty much everything. She is forced to decide whether she wants to watch her best friend die or confrotn her fears to save him. On this journey of discovery she finds what she is truly made of as well as what else is out there in the world around her.

4 stars ****

The Stars Never Rise (The Stars Never Rise, #1)

The Stars Never Rise by Rachel Vincent 

The Stars Never Rise #1

June 9, 2015 – Delacorte Press

368 pages – Young adult, Fiction, Fantasy

http://rachelvincent.com/

Facebook: yes

Twitter: @Rachelkvincent
Goodreads Summary

My Thoughts:  I wasn’t sure what I was expecting, but I am very glad that I picked this book up. I was a little irritated that the church turned out to be the bad guys, but there is more to the story.  It didn’t really effect my overall opinion, and I am definitely looking forward to the next book.

4 Stars ****

The Pawn (The Patrick Bowers Files, #1)

The Pawn by Steven James 

The Patrick Bowers File #1

September 1, 2007 -Fleming H. Revell Company

427 Pages – Adut, Fiction, Crime, Thriller/Suspense, Mystery, Series

http://www.stevenjames.net/

Facebook: Yes

Twitter: @sjamesauthor

Goodreads Summary

My Thoughts: This was a re-read for me. But it’s been such a long time, it’s almost like reading it for the first time. I like Bowers, his clumsiness as well as his accuracy. I am glad that we are meeting him after his wife’s death and not before, I think that he was a different person. And I think that person would be a bit more less likable. Reading from the killer’s perspective was an interesting touch. James is an excellent storyteller and this was a good start to the series.

5 stars *****

Always Shine!

Leave a Reply

