Review: Magic Bites by Ilona Andrews (1)

Magic Bites (Kate Daniels, #1)

Magiv Bites by Ilona Andrews 

Kate Daniels #1

April 1, 2007 – Ace

260 Pages – Adult, Fiction, Urban Fantasy, Series

Home

Faceboook: yes

Twitter: @ilona_andrews

Source: Library Book

From Goodreads: Atlanta would be a nice place to live, if it weren’t for magic…
One moment magic dominates, and cars stall and guns fail. The next, technology takes over and the defensive spells no longer protect your house from monsters. Here skyscrapers topple under onslaught of magic; werebears and werehyenas prowl through the ruined streets; and the Masters of the Dead, necromancers driven by their thirst of knowledge and wealth, pilot blood-crazed vampires with their minds.
In this world lives Kate Daniels. Kate likes her sword a little too much and has a hard time controlling her mouth. The magic in her blood makes her a target, and she spent most of her life hiding in plain sight.
But when Kate’s guardian is murdered, she must choose to do nothing and remain safe or to pursue his preternatural killer. Hiding is easy, but the right choice is rarely easy…

My Thoughts: I am so very glad that I brought in the new year with this book. I stayed up much later than I had planned simply because I could not put this book down. This is a series that I’ve wanted to start for a very long time. The more that I read, the more that I liked Kate. There is a mystery behind her, but meeting her here at this time in her life seems right. She is coming into her own. Since she is used to working on her own and hiding who she is, this is going to be a bumpy growing journey. Even more so, because she is aware of the danger that it brings to her. Her strength, the hidden one not the one that is often displayed, is the other thing that I like about her. I didn’t like Crest, he appeared too eager in a creepy hidden motive kind of way. But Curran, the Beast lord himself! I liked him and I can’t wait to see more interactions between him and Kate. On the one hand, it sounds like a good idea, the push each other’s buttons a lot. But on the other hand, pushing each other’s buttons seems like dangerous territory. We shall see.

4 stars ****

Always Shine!

One thought on “Review: Magic Bites by Ilona Andrews (1)

  1. I’ve read every book (with the exception of Jim’s second novella) and I regret nothing. I love just how developed Kate’s character is: strong but very vulnerable and how she uses bluster and sheer stubbornness to fight herself through a sticky situation. Curran is the ultimate hotness in so many ways. Keep reading!

Leave a Reply

