DNF Review: Congo Dawn by Jeanette Windle

Congo Dawn

Congo Dawn by Jeanette Windle 

February 1, 2013 -Tyndale house Publishers

472 Pages – Adult, Christian, Fiction, Military(ish)

Homepage

Facebook: Yes

Twitter: @jeanettewindle

Source: Tyndale Blog Network

I was given a copy of this book, free, in exchange for my honest opinion. 

From Goodreads: While former Marine lieutenant Robin Duncan is no stranger to corruption or conspiracy, she has always been able to tell the good guys from the bad, and the Congo jungle at first seems no different. But as her security team tries to track down an insurgent killer, Robin has to face a man who broke her trust years ago, and she discovers the gray areas extend farther in this jungle wilderness than she anticipated.A ruthless global conspiracy begins to surface, run by powerful men who can’t afford to leave any witnesses. Her life at stake, Robin doesn’t know who to trust and wonders how she can help protect innocent people. Why is God silent amid all the pain and injustice? And how do these people of faith continue to rejoice in their suffering?

My Thoughts: It is very rare that I do not finish a review book. (Though it seems to be happening more often now than in the past). I appreciate the authors and the publishers who entrust me with an ARC or even a finished copy for review. But they do that, understanding that not every book is meant for every person. Or at least,  I hope that they do.

Saying that, I have to admit that this book just wasn’t for me. I don’t think that there is anything wrong with the writing, in fact, I find that the book was well written. I made it to the halfway mark before I put this book aside. I had every intention of coming back to it. I thought that I was just getting bored with it because of Book A.D.D. But two weeks went by and I hadn’t even thought about it. I passed by it one day and decided to pick it up, to finish it and move on. So I flipped to my bookmark, and I wasn’t interested in it -at all. I had a vague idea of what was going on so I didn’t have to start over. But, I wasn’t pulled back into the world. Sure, I wanted to know if the main character (what was her name again?) reconnected with her old love interest, but not in the whole “read the book to find out” kind of way.

I can blame part of my disinterest in finding that the main character was not that strong of a female lead. I mean I know she wasn’t picked out to be a hired mercenary, and I know that she was physically able to take care of herself. But, she was too passive for my tastes (as evidenced by her conversation/confrontation with her sister).  I could be wrong, the ending may have redeemed the first half of the book. But, I couldn’t do it. I wasn’t invested enough in the story or the characters to turn the page again. So, I moved on and admitted that this book just wasn’t for me.

DNF Review 

Always Shine!

One thought on “DNF Review: Congo Dawn by Jeanette Windle

  1. Pingback: Monthly Discussion: Have we become impatient as readers? | The Literati Press

Leave a Reply

