Two Books that I DNF’D

I think for books that I DNF I am going to review them together instead of individually.

The Summer I Turned Pretty (Summer, #1)

The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han 

Summer #1

May 5, 2009 – Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

276 Pages – Young Adult, Fiction, Contemporary

Goodreads

Purpose: Bookshelf Read

I picked this one up at the library to read since I had book 2 on my bookshelf. I thought that it would be nice summery read.  I’ve actually wanted to read this series for a while, but now I am very glad that I didn’t buy the whole trilogy and that I picked up book 2 on a clearance deal . This is about a girl is who in love with 2 guys that she grew up with , who happen to be brothers. I didn’t know that going in. It was a bit juvenile for me, but age appropriate for the characters. I couldn’t connect with Belly, the main character. Since this story seemed to be focused solely on the love triangle, and I despise love triangle, I thought that it would be best to just move on.

Monsters (Ashes Trilogy, #3)

Monsters by Ilsa J. Bick 

Ashes #3

September 10,2013 – Egmont USA

688 pages – Young Adult, Fiction, Fantasy, series

Goodreads

Purpose: for review, Edelweiss

I received a copy of this book, free, in exchange for my honest opinion. 

I was hoping that the second book wouldn’t cloud my judgement for this installment too much. But, since I am being honest, it did. I tried to read it and get into it. I tried to reconnect with the characters. I just couldn’t, in the back of my mind I kept thinking that this book was going to be a complete waste of my time, just as the second book was. So, i put it aside with the intention of coming back to it later. Book 3 is a huge book, 688 pages, and it would be a huge investment of my time. I couldn’t make the investment now, when it took me a week to read roughly 62 pages. This isn’t against the author or the writing. This was just a book that simply wasn’t for me. Which is sad, since I had been looking forward to reading the series for a long time. I am a smidge curious about how it ends, but I think the cliff notes version will work for me.

Always Shine!

4 thoughts on “Two Books that I DNF’D

  1. Pingback: Monthly Discussion: Have we become impatient as readers? | The Literati Press

Leave a Reply

