Review: Avenger by Heather Burch

Avenger (Halflings, #3)

Avenger by Heather Burch 

Halflings #3

March 26, 2013 – Zonderkidz

304 pages – Young adult, fiction, fantasy, angels,

Heather Burch Books

Facebook: yes

Twitter: @heatherburch

Purpose: Review, Netgalley

A copy of this title was given to me, free, in exchange for my honest opinion. 

From Goodreads: Sometimes the Truth Comes with a Price
Nikki knew Damon Vessler would not let his prized creation go easily—she simply never imagined the lengths he’d go to get her back into his clutches, and turn Nikki’s heart toward darkness.
A Seeker at her heels, trained on her blood, Nikki flees with Raven alongside her for protection, while Mace and the other Halflings fight the battle that has erupted on earth. But even as the two boys she loves fight for her, she knows the battle will be hers to win. Determined to uncover the secrets of her past, and exactly how she fits into Vessler’s twisted plans, Nikki sets off on her own, and soon discovers facing hellacious beasts is nothing compared to the decision she will need to make. One that could change not only the war, and her relationship with Mace and Raven, but her future with the Throne.

My Thoughts: This was the third and final book in the Halfling series. For the most part, I enjoyed this one. I actually think that this may be the best book out of the trilogy. In this installment, Nikki is a halfling and she knows it.  She has ended the triangle by choosing -finally. But everything is far from over. Vesseler is still out there and still wants to turn her to create  and lead an army of dark halflings.  Nikki must face and destroy the most dangerous enemy yet and it’s not Vesseler or herself.

Without giving too much away, this book is about more than just dealing with the dangerous enemy.  Nikki has to face her current situation and deal with Vesseler. She is stronger and has a secret weapon. Everyone surprised me in this book, especially Raven.  I thought that we were past doing rash and impulsive things since nothing good ever comes from it. But I guess not. I was also certain that Nikki would stop whining. Again, I was wrong.  Right when she would start to toughen up, she would fall back into old habits.

I like Raven a lot more in this installment. It seems that he still had some growing pains to go through. The ending was not what I expected, but a lot more of what I did expect. The problems that I had with it are: it’s still vague and it didn’t really provide the closure I was expecting. I did enjoy it, but there was still something about it that bothered me a little.

4 Stars ****

Always Shine!

Leave a Reply

