Monthly Wrap Up: January 2016

Wow! This month has flown by so quickly, and yet not so much. Anyway, I can say that I stuck to my reading goals for at least a month.

Looking back at my blogging goals I can say that I’ve done pretty good. I think, at least. I have been pretty consistent with posting a review at least once a week. I think there was only one week where I didn’t post a review. But there were a couple of weeks where I have posted two or three reviews, so it evens out.

As far as my focus posts/goals, I’m tossing it. I like the freedom of picking a book and reading it because I feel like it. There are already time constraints that I have for review books, so it’s silly for me to pick books out and say I have to read it this month. Or what? It won’t get read til later, no big.

And since I am working on the wrap up post a few days ahead of time, I think I’m good for this goal.

On to the Reading Goals!!!

Bookshelf Reads: I really need to do better on this one. I’ve gone through my shelves and set aside books that I want to read and then decided whether to donate or keep in effort to be realistic about the books that I acquire. But I haven’t really made a dent in either of the two growing stacks.  But, I’ve only added four books to my shelf this month, and they all go along with a series that I’m collecting. Of these series, only one is an unknown, the other three are series that I am completing. I am participating in the #readmyowndamnbooks movement/challenge. You can find out more here at Estella’s Revenge. 

Series: I’ve started two new series, but I’ve completed one. I started Kate Daniels by Ilona Andrews, it’s one that I’ve really wanted to read for a long time. I’ve started the Will Trent series by Karin Slaughter, I had book 3 on my bookshelf and book 6 for review.  I have completed the White Rabbit Chronicles by Gena Showalter!

Review: Okay this is another one that I need to work on. I have only completed one review book this month. I did DNF two, but still I would like to do better. I am currently reading a review book, but it won’t count a January read.

Challenges: I’m knocking out some challenges, so this I’m satisfied with. I read all of the books I wanted to read for the children’s challenges this month. And even though I said I was only going to focus on the challenges that I had already set up on my blog, I picked up two other challenges. Mainly because a lot of the books that I am planning on reading, cross over, so I won’t have to really add any books to my reading stacks. Those two challenges are BookRiot’s Read Harder Challenge and Modern Ms. Darcy’s 2016 Reading Challenge.

Stats:  Among the other new things that I am trying, I have decided to track what I read in a lot more detail than I usually do. Pretty much, I’ve been happy with setting a numerical goal and hitting that. I want to read more diversely this year, specifically more black authors. Only one of my favorite authors is black, Octavia Butler, because I can vouch for her work. I am branching out and reading more black authors this year. (This month, not so much.

Here it is:

Books Read: 12                        Pages Read (does not include DNF’d books): 3567

Books DNF’d: 4

Books Read for Series: 10

White authors read: 10   (2 books was written by a Russian-American) POC authors read: 2

Women authors read: 6  Male authors read: 4 Male & Female authors read: 2

Books that I owned: 4

Review Books: 1

Print Books: 9     E-Books: 4

Books Read:

(If you just want to see the books I read and not how it all breaks down you can check ouy Pinterest Page. )

Children’s Challenge: (These books do not count in the stats above or even towards books read)

1001 Children’s Books You Must Read Before You Die

-Where’s Spot by Eric Hill

-The Baby Cataloogue by Allan Ahlberg

-Dear Zoo by Rod Campbell

-Good Dog Carl by Alexandra Day

100 Books to Read Before Kindergarten

-Madeline by LudwigBemelmans

-Goldilocks and the Three Bears by jan Brett

-Bad Kitty by Nick Bruel

-Maisy Goes to the Library by Lucy Cousins

-Freight Train by Donald Crews

-Click Clack Moo: Cows That Type: Doreen Cronin

-A Ball for Daisy by Chris Raschka

-Go Dog Go by P.D. Eastman

Reading Challenges 

Modern Mrs. Darcy 2016 Reading Challenge:

-The Giver by Lois Lowry

-Battling Boy by Paul Pope

-Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry

Book Riot’s Read Harder Challenge

-The Giver by Lois Lowry

#readmyowndamnbooks:

-Written in Red by Anne Bishop
-The Giver by Lois Lowry

-Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry

Diversity:

-Shadowshaper by Daniel Jose Older

Series:

-Pushing the Limits by Katies McGarry

-A Mad Zombie Party by Gena Showalter

-American Vampire Volume 2 by Scott Snyder

-Magic Bites and Magic Burns by Ilona Andrews

-Battling Boy and Rise of Aurora West by Paul Pope

 

Wow! This took much longer than I thought it would. I don’t know if  I will break it down like this again next month. Happy Reading!

 

Always Shine!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

