DNF Review: The Choosing by Rachelle Dekker

The Choosing (Seer, #1)

The Choosing by Rachelle Dekker 

The Seer #1

May 19, 2015 – Tyndale house

464 page – Young adult, dystopian, fiction, christian, fantasy

Rachelle Dekker

Facebook: yes

Twitter: @RachelleDekker

Purpose: Review, Edelweiss

I was given a copy of this book, free, in exchange for my honest opinion. 

Click here for the Goodreads summary, if you would like to know what this book is about.

My Thoughts: To be completely honet, the main reason that I wanted to read this books was because I am a huge fan of her dad, Ted Dekker’s work. I wanted tos ee the type of stories that his daughter would spin. I was very happy that while she may have followed her dad into the writing world, she had her own voice and her own story to tell. I was excited that her writing was nothing like her dad’s. But, that’s where the excitement stayed. I am a little disappointed because I was confident that I would love this book.

The synopsis makes the book sound so much more interesting than it really is. I know that I am in the minority when I say that I didn’t enjoy this book. Even more so when I say that I couldn’t finish it. I stopped at the 25% mark. (For a book that is 464 pages, 25% is a lot, about 116 pages into the book.) Id the book was cut by about 150 pages and the pacing was increased, I my have enjoyed this enough to at least finish. But, as it is, do you  know what happened in the 116 pages that I did read? Nothing. Carington is not chosen, says good-bye to family, becomes a lint reunites and befriends  Larkin, rescued  by citywatch guard Remko, a lint girl is found murdered, Authority somebody lets his wife die and Carrington runs into her mom and little brother in the city. Yes, all of that moves the story from one page to the other, but what happens? Is any of it important? Why should I care?Along the way the story is peppered with the obnoxious message that  females are only worth something if they are chosen (this message is beat into the ground), and if they are not chosen they are only good for manual labor in service to the Authority.

I couldn’t into this story  and I didn’t care about any of the characters. So, I decided to not continue with this particular installment.

DNF

Always Shine!

Leave a Reply

