Blog Tour and Review Post : The Calling by Rachelle Dekker

I am excited to be participating in the blog tour for Rachelle Dekker and her second book in The Seer series, The Calling.  She participated in a Q &A, which I have posted a part of it here, on my blog.

Q: The Calling is the second book in The Seer Series. Does it pick up right after The Choosing leaves off? No, a year and a half

RD:No, a year and a half has passed when we rejoin the characters in The Calling.

Q: This book is written from Remko’s perspective. Did you face any challenges writing from a male point-of-view?

RD: There was definitely a looming pressure as I started to write the book. As a woman writer, I wanted to make sure Remko felt masculine and authentic, so I was constantly aware of how he sounded, and how he reacted. Once I got into a flow with his character though, it started to feel more familiar I didn’t have to think about it as much.

Q: The theme of identity from The Choosing continues in The Calling. Carrington reminds herself, “When you know who you truly are, you realize there is no war left to fight at all.” How does this statement apply to our Christian faith?

RD: For me this is simply a reminder that God is still God. Regardless of my circumstance or how I view the world, the Father is constant and hasn’t changed. He has already won the fight, already conquered death, already set me free. It’s only when I forget who He calls me and who He is that I feel the need to fight against life instead of surrendering to Him and letting Him be God.

Below you can find out more about the book and my thoughts about it.

The Calling

The Calling by Rachelle Dekker 

The Seer #2

March 8, 2016  – Tyndale house

464 page – Young adult, dystopian, fiction, christian, fantasy

Rachelle Dekker

Facebook: yes

Twitter: @RachelleDekker

Purpose: Review, Tyndale

.I was given a copy of this book, free, in exchange for my honest opinion. 

Click here for the Goodreads summary, if you would like to know what this book is about.

My Thoughts: I did something I normally would not have done. I attempted to read the second book in the series without having read the first book. Only because I have the second book for review, and I am part of the blog tour.

Yesterday’s post was my DNF review for The Choosing, the first book in The Seers series, so I will not get into detail about that one. Normally, I wouldn’t have gone on with the series if the first book didn’t compel me to. But, I am part of the blog tour, and was told that the author would be visiting each tour stop and would be expecting a review. Having the author visit my blog is always an honor and gets me excited, but it doesn’t really affect my feelings/thoughts on the book. This time, that knowledge did convince me to give a book a chance it normally would not have gotten.

I made it much further in book 2 than I thought that I would. While there were parts that I liked (it had nice action scenes), there were a whole lot more parts that I just couldn’t get behind. This book is told through Remko’s perspective. Remko is now married to Carrington and they have a daughter together. For all intents and purposes, he is the leader of the rebels. But, I didn’t buy it. I am not saying that every hero is without faults. It’s their flaws that make them that much more human and believable. If the hero is human, than it is normal and expected of them to be afraid. But in Remko it alternated between being weak and being more feminine than what was probably intended.

 I wish that I could say that I was invested in either the characters or the story/plot. While parts of what I read was interesting, there was still something missing, something that kept me from believing in this story. I struggled with making it as far as I did. It took me a week to make it through the 145 pages that I did  get through.

DNF

Always Shine!

Leave a Reply

