Review: The Progeny by Tosca Lee

The Progeny (Descendants of the Blood Countess #1)

The Progeny by Tosca Lee

Descendants of the Blood Countess #1

“My name is Emily Porter . I am twenty-one years old and I am renting a tiny cabin in the north woods of Maine, for reasons I no longer remember.”

What if you knew of a secret that would destroy the world that you lived in? It was so dark, twisted and powerful that people would kill those you knew and loved just to get to you? Would you choose to forget it all and leave that life behind, knowing that you would also have to lose the people that you love to keep them alive?

This is what Emily Porter does.The memory erasing procedure is so complete she has no idea why she chose to do this to herself.  She awakens as a new person, with no memory of who she was or what she is.  Though it is awkward starting life on her own, she begins to embrace it. Then she meets Luka and Rolan. Two men that eventually tell her that they know her past and one is here to kill her while the other is here to protect her.  She doesn’t know who to trust and soon realizes that  no one is to be trusted until she can rediscover who she is and why she chose to forget. Emily soon learns that Luka and Rolan are not the most dangerous people out there and more powerful people are after what she has chosen to forget.

I love love loved this book! It kept me guessing, and I didn’t figure anything out.  To be completely honest, I am not sure if I fully understand everything that was discovered. Luckily, I don’t think you have to. Emily/Audra also doesn’t understand everything either. She is thrust into a world where trusting the wrong person can get you and your loved ones killed. Her people and her enemies both want something from her, and both sides are willing to force her into giving it to them. She has seen death way too many times to be comfortable. She has to have someone (multiple someones) tell her who she is. In the end she does learn why she chose to take the chance and erase her memory. But by the time she figures it out, she has been threatened, her loved ones have been threatened. She is at the end of her hope. But she is ready to fight. AND THEN IT ENDS!!! Yes, this ends on a cliffhanger. I am pretty sure that when I reached the halfway point, I knew that it would. I hate cliffhangers.  But there wasn’t a better way to end this book.

“My name is Audra Ellison and I am twenty-one years old.  I am Utod, from the noble and long line of Bathory. I remember who I am . . .those I died for, those I love.  And I am ready for the fight of my life. “

I am really looking forward to the next book. But, in the meantime, I will check out the rest of Lee’s books.

Always Shine!

The Progeny will be available May 24, 2016.

You can contact Tosca Lee or find more information about her books on her website , Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

My opinions and thoughts are my own, but I was given a copy of The Progeny, free, in exchange for sharing my thoughts.

Leave a Reply

