June Library Haul

I haven’t done a haul post in a while. Mainly because I am working through books that I am debating on purging or keeping. But, despite the fact that I know that I need to focus on my own books, I have made use of my library. I have no idea if I will get to all of these books, but I would like to.

IMAG1939

(Sorry for the glare!)

The Ocean at the End of the Lane  This was a book club pick, I was waiting on the ebook, but it took too long . This is about a man who returns to his childhood home for a funeral. His home is gone but he is lost in the memories of a girl he met at the farm down the road.

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte This was another book club pick. I have an e-book of this one, but I just couldn’t get into on my kindle. I started reading this one already and I am enjoying it. It’s long and wordy at points, but good. This is about Jane Eyre, who is an orphaned girl. She moves from her aunt’s house to school and then eventually becomes a governess and falls in love with someone she shouldn’t (I think).

Broken Angel by Sigmund Brouwer This is the first in a duology. I have been wanting to read this since I read The Canary List. This is about a girl who is being hunted by men because of the secret of her existence.

Jane Slayre by Sherri Browning Erwin  I saw this when I picked up Jane Eyre. Apparently in this version, Jane is a demon hunter raised by vampires.

Pandemonium by Daryl Gregory This book takes place in the 1950s and being possessed by demons are common.  A boy is possessed by a demon and then he believes that the exorcism works. Years later, as an adult, the boy – now man- finds out that it didn’t.

Wait there’s more. (This is the second trip I made, in which I got 2 of the 3 books I planned on and then some.)

IMAG1940

The Last Girl by Joe Hart  I don’t know if this is a future time, or a remade Earth. But here an epidemic has reduced the mortality of female infants. While a solution is trying to be found, Zoey finds that she has to either undergo a procedure that is sure to kill her or run to a world that she knows nothing about.

Capital Punishment by Robert Wilson Charles Boxer is called in to rescue the daughter of an Indian Tycoon and then finds that there is more going on than he thought.

Apocalypse Now Now by Charlie Human  16 year old Baxter has to find his missing girlfriend. With the help of a drunk bounty hunter, he travels through Capetown’s supernatural underground to save her.

The Damned by Andrew Pyper Bestselling memoir author Danny Orchard was terrorized by his psychopathic sister, who happens to be his twin. The fire that he writes about is the fire that took the like of his sister. Now she’s back and after his family.

The Guardians by Andrew Pyper Four boys grow up together in a small town. One boy, Ben, returns home when he hears about the suicide of one of the others. The three boys are then forced to remember the events that happened in an abandoned house when they were kids.

Okay, that’s it. I don’t plan on going back to the library until I have made my way through most of these books. I want to read them all, but with review books and bookshelf reads I am not sure how quickly I will get through them.  I will do a book haul for books that I’ve purchased and books that I have for review later.

 

Always Shine!

 

2 thoughts on “June Library Haul

Leave a Reply

