Review: Editor’sPick of the month- Naked City

Naked City: Tales of Urban Fantasy

Naked City Edited by Ellen Datlow

This was the book that was selected for the Editor’s Pick of the month. In an attempt to read at least one book off of my shelf, I have started this new feature. This will help create movement and flow in my own personal collection of books.

It did take me the month to get through this book, and in the end I still dnf’d it.  The first story was a Jim Butcher story, so it started out well. Then the next two stories fell flat for me, so I skipped ahead to the authors that I knew well and wanted to read. Patricia Briggs and Melissa Marr. I was not surprised that I enjoyed their stories. I even read the Naomi Novik story. I’ve been wanting to read a couple of her books, so this gave me the opportunity to sample her writing. Needless to say, I really want to start one of her novels. I did start reading Holly Black’s story, and, I didn’t finish it. I don’t know what it is about her, but her stories have been more misses than hits for me. But I really enjoyed White Cat, so I keep going back. I don’t know how I ended with so many of her books, but I have quite a few in my collection.  While I will read more of her work, I won’t be rushing to do so.

Out f 20 short stories, I read 7. I started, but didn’t finish 1 and didn’t bother with 12 stories. I enjoyed 4 out of the 7 that I read. 1 out of the other 3 was ok, but I personally felt like 2 of the stories was a waste of my time.

Would I recommend this anthology? If you are interested in any of the authors in this anthology, I would say get it from the library. If you are familiar enough with the authors and their writing to know whether or not you will enjoy the stories, then maybe buy it? Though I have accumulated a lot of anthologies, it is hard for me to recommend anyone to buy them. I do not usually have book buying regrets,but anthologies, for me, are a regret. (Now, I am only talking about mixed grab bag anthologies. I am very happy with the short story anthologies that Kelley Armstrong and Patricia Briggs did for their long running series.)

Leave a Reply

