Reading Check In 8/17

book mail 2

Hi guys! I just wanted to drop in and let you all know what’s been going on with me. I have been reading, but most of the books that I’ve read are either part of a series (and I am waiting til I finish the series to do a review) or simply not really  worth a review. I do have some review books that I’ve been reading or will be reading , so review posts will be coming.

But I kind of sort of took a break. At least from the rat race of reviewing. It’s hard to write reviews for books that were just “meh” or that are part of a series (since I don’t want to give anything away).  And after talking with my friend, I decided to go “old school” with my reading. You  know – if you’re old enough to have experienced this- before technology got involved. If you read an amazing book, or at least one that made a deeper impression than “that was ok”, you would talk it up to your friends, strangers, anyone standing around looking lost.  I have accepted that not every book that I read will need a review. If it’s not something that I would talk about to my friends in real life, it’s probably not worth the time and effort it takes to write a review for my blog.

That’s not the only change I’ve made. I don’t use Goodreads anymore. It is a great way to track the books you’ve read and that you want to read. But, that just helped me lose control and if I live 5 lifetimes I would not be able to read everything on that list. I use libib, to keep track of my physical and digital libraries, as well as the digital books that I have for review (because I have so many that I forgot about them. You know out of sight, out of mind.) And I have been keeping an old fashioned paper and pen reading journal.  Since I have started this in the beginning of July, I have read 13 books. My reading goal for the year was to read 80 books. So add that with the total books that I had read tracking Goodreads and a few that GR didn’t count because they were re-reads, and I am at 90+ books.  Not bad if I say so myself.

In case you want to know what I’ve been reading:

I have finished Percy Jackson and the Olympians series by Rick Riordan.

I am currently half way through the Kate Daniels series by Ilona Andrews.

I have started the Morganville Vampire series by Rachel Caine.

Always Shine!

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Reading Check In 8/17

  1. I will be curious to see what you think of the Morganville vampire series overall. I personally really enjoyed it to start with, but then I fizzled after about 5 books? It was just bugging me and I couldn’t work up an interest any more…

  2. Are you reading your series books sequentially, one after the next, or do you intersperse other reads with them? I’ve been catching up on series this year, which sometimes calls for a little rereading if it’s been too long since I began the series. That makes it sound like a do-able project, but even though I really am being more attentive to series in 2016, and am finally finishing a few, there are so many that I’m interested in finishing, there’s no way this could be a year-long project. Even a decade-long one might be pushing my luck.

    Good luck with your continued “old-school” experiment. It does free up a lot of time I’m sure!

    • It depends on the series and library availability. I zipped through the first five books of Kate Daniels. But I stopped because I wanted to catch up on the novellas. Most of the books that I pick up turns out to be a part of a series, so I sometimes feel like I’m not making any progress. I do try to throw in a stand alone or a book from a series I’m currently reading through to kind of break things up. I’m enjoying doing it the old school way.

Leave a Reply

