My Reading in September

MONTHLY WRAP2

Okay, so I am still reading what I want. And for the most part, it’s working out for me. I have enjoyed most of what I’ve read, and I’ve only DNF’d 3 books.  I did get distracted from the series that I was reading, but I am making up for it now.

Saying that, I have decided to focus on series that I’ve already started and reading things for two challenges that I started late (100 best fairy tale retellings and 100 Science Fiction books written by women). That’s not to say that I won’t read other books, but I need to clear some books out of my shelves and out of boxes. I need the space, and since most of the series are ones that I’ve collected I want to read but not keep this seems the fastest way to do some shelf cleaning. Know what I mean?

Anyway, this is what  I read in September:

Dead to the World (Sookie Stackhouse, #4)   Dead as a Doornail (Sookie Stackhouse, #5)

Dead to the World by Charlaine Harris  Sookie Stackhouse #4/ Dead as a Doornail  Sookie Stackhouse #5- I have been listening to this series on audio, and I love it! I really enjoy the narrator, the accents and voices. It makes the story that much better. Maybe next year I will read the series and see if I enjoy it that way as well.

Finn's Choice  (The Adventures of Finn MacCullen, #4)

Finn’s Choice by Darby Karchut The Adventures of Finn MacCullen #4-  This was the review book I picked for September, and the review has been posted. I really enjoyed this series, I love the characters and how everything ended. Though it was sad to say good-bye, I loved this book.

Magic Mourns (Kate Daniels, #3.5)

Magic Mourns By Ilona Andrews  Kate Daniels 3.5/ Retribution Clause  Kate Daniels World/ Magic Test  Kate Daniels 5.3- I took a break from the actual novels to go back and read the novellas. And while they have no bearing on the overall storyline, the novellas were enjoyable and provided insight to the other characters.  I liked getting glimpses into characters that would normally be in the background of the main characters and main events. Each one was treated with as much respect as the full-length novel and was just as enjoyable and engaging.

VSI by Nancy Holder  and  Spellcaster 2.0 by Jonathan Maberry – I read these two short stories as I was reading the Kate Daniels stories. I was very excited to see that the anthologies carried these authors, as I had been wanting to read some Jonathan Maberry (who has been an awesome facebook person) and wanting to get back into some Nancy Holder. Both of these stories I enjoyed. And I know that I need to get my hands on some of their full-length work sooner rather than later.

Books I didn’t finish:

Among Others by Jo Walton-  This was one of the books for the 100 best science fiction books written by women challenge. The person I partner read this with enjoyed it immensely. Unfortunately, I didn’t connect or even like the main character, and I didn’t like the diary format that it was written in.

The Alchemy of Stone by Ekaterina Sedia – This was another for the 100 best science fiction books written by women challenge. I made it half way through it. I enjoyed the first part, but then got bored quickly.

Little Earthquakes by Jennifer Weiner –  I picked this up because a friend was raving about the author. Being curious and wanting to branch out I picked up this title. It was okay to start, but it didn’t hold my attention. And this time it was a me problem and not a book problem.

Well that is all of my reading in Septemeber. We will see what happens in October.

Always Shine !

Leave a Reply

