#Borrowathon wrapup

Borrowathon ended yesterday. And, I have to admit that I really enjoyed it. Plus I was really productive. I like the idea of readathons, but for the most part I find it hard to actually participate in them. But I made a short TBR of books that I either needed to get through or really wanted to read. 2 out of the 3 books were a hit. And the other, well, we can’t win them all. But here is my wrapup, starting with the ones that I did finish.

The Goodbye Bride (Summer Harbor, #2)

The Goodbye Bride by Denise Hunter

Summer Harbor #2

I really enjoyed this one. It has been a while since I read the first book in the trilogy, but it didn’t take long for me to remember. The characters are enjoyable and relateable. This book focuses on a different brother, but you still have appearances from the other two. It was nice to be able to check in and see how Eden and Beau were doing.  Zac, I don’t know if he is my favorite brother but I liked him. If he and Lucy did not already have history, I would complain that the falling in love happened way too fast. But what happens when you start spending time with the person you love, even though you’re supposed to be over each other?

3 stars 

Cold Shot (Chesapeake Valor, #1)

Cold Shot by Dani Pettrey

Chesapeake Valor #1

This is the first Pettry novel that I’ve read, even though I have a few from her other series on my kindle. This book makes me want to go back and read the rest of her other work. I like the fact that the attraction between Griffin and Finley began before the start of the book, it makes it that much more believable. Even though stressful situations tend to either bring people together or tear them apart. The mystery part of the story was well done, I enjoyed the fact that even though you were pointed in one direction the team never gave up the idea that there were other possibilities. And then in the end, it was still a bit of surprise. I am glad that we got to see the team working together immediately, and that different people won’t just be popping up later as needed. This way we got the introductions out of the way. This book focuses on Griffin and Finley and the demons of their past that they have to face.  Maybe because I expected it, I wasn’t disappointed that they fit together a little too perfectly.

3 stars

The Diabolic

The Diabolic by S.J. Kincaid

I really wanted to like this book. I did, I promise. It kept popping up everywhere, and it sounded really interesting. But a hundred pages in and I still couldn’t get into it. This might be a case where I was simply not patient enough. I have a whole stack of library books and two review books that were coming up, so I couldn’t afford to slug through it. My main problem was that I didn’t connect with or care about the main character, Nemesis or the charge she was created to protect. Maybe I will come back to it. If you read it (or have read it) and think I should give it another try, please let me know.

DNF

I am definitely looking forward to the next round of Borrowathon, whenever that might be.

Always Shine!

Leave a Reply

