Young Adult Review: Perfect Liars by Kimberly Reid

Perfect Liars

Perfect Liars by Kimberly Reid

Source: Edelweiss, Tu Books

4 stars

A digital copy of this title was given to me, free, in exchange for my honest opinion.

 

When Drea pulled up to the house, she was surprised to find the iron gate wide open.

First, I really enjoyed this book. No, it wasn’t perfect but it was still very good. Ignore the synopsis because it is very misleading. One of the things that annoyed me was the beating to death of the fact that Drea is not who she was pretending to be; that she was secretly a criminal. Other than her dwelling on it over and over and over there isn’t any real evidence of her criminality.  I liked the dynamics of the characters. I found Jason to be funny, and I think he’s my favorite. Drea was super-smart but did some stupid things, but they somehow fit into her personality –  if that makes sense. Gigi was a handful popping in and out as the story needed her. But, I feel like there’s room for her to grow into.  Xavier was like and iceberg. What he wanted you to know was just the surface. There is so much more underneath. The instant attraction between Drea and Xavier was stupid so I was glad that they didn’t act on it. The romance was allowed to build and it never became the focus of the plot. The mystery slowly started unraveling and this pulled me into the story even more. I really liked watching Drea slowly put things together and unknowingly move into a leadership role. I don’t think there’s anyone better for it. I liked the ending, and how we didn’t know everything that was going on. I do feel like it was a bit rushed. Even though there is more going on, things that may be resolved in book two, the ending was satisfying. I’ll definitely be keeping my eye out for more from this author.

But at the moment, Drea realized that these people who had been strangers-enemies even- only two weeks ago might be her first true friends.

Always Shine!

Leave a Reply

