Middle Grade Review: Horizon by Scott Westerfeld

Horizon (Horizon, #1)

Horizon (Horizon #1) by Scott Westerfeld

Source: Edelweiss, Scholastic

Purpose: Review

3.75 stars

I was given a digital copy of this book, free, in exchange for my honest opinion. 

There are some things that you should know about this book before you start it. And that is what I am going to tell you. First thing is that this the first in a seven (7!) book series. While the entire series was outlined by Scott Westerfeld, he will not be writing all of the books. This series is written in the way that Spirit Animals, The 39 Clues and The Infinity Ring series was written.  Another thing that you should know would be that this book reminded me a bit of Lord of the Flies and The Maze Runner, but with a gaming feel to it. Most importantly, and my biggest complaint, you need to know that this book does NOT have an ending. There was no resolutions, even though one of the major questions was answered, so much more was left untouched. This was a great survival story, and I did enjoy it. it was as realistic as it possibly could be given the circumstances. Characters get hurt and no one is guaranteed to make it to the next book alive. After their plane crashes and most of the passengers, including all of the adults, 8 kids are forced to come together in order to figure out what happened and to live through the ordeal. I did enjoy this book. And if it had a definite ending, I would have enjoyed it more and rated it higher.  I was a little (okay a lot) irritated when I realized that there was no way  a satisfactory ending was going to happen. Despite how well written the story was, and how well developed the characters were, I couldn’t enjoy the rest of the story. Chances are, I won’t continue with this series until the rest of the series is available.

Always Shine!

Leave a Reply

