*DNF* Review: A Moonbow Night by Laura Frantz

A Moonbow Night

A Moonbow Night by Laura Frantz

Source: Revell Reads Review Program

Purpose: Review

Christian Fiction, Historical

I was given a copy of this book, free, in exchange for my honest opinion.

*DNF*

Historical books are often hit or miss with me. The last few have been big hits, so I went with it and selected this one for review. I want to stress that this book isn’t bad, it just wasn’t for me. Frantz’s writing is beautiful, the premise of the story is interesting (that’s what drew me to this book in the first place).  It’s the execution that didn’t work for me. The pacing was too slow, I made it a third of the way through before I put the book aside. And I simply couldn’t motivate myself to come back to it. This was a lot of time and space to get to know the characters, and yet, I still felt as if I didn’t know very much of substance about them. Sion and Tempe had the budding of a romance that promised to be sweet and long lasting (at least in my opinion), but in the part that I read they spent more time apart then they spent together.  Frantz was able to draw me deeply into the setting; the time and place of the story. Unfortunately, she was not able to keep me engaged with what was going on.

 

 

Always Shine!

 

Leave a Reply

