So Far Saturday…….2/18

18I had planned on posting this last week, but I hadn’t finished very many books so I waited. I have fallen behind with my reading, but that’s okay. I thought that I would be on track with my reviews and everything, but I’ve read a few duds. I started and DNF’d a few. There is one that I am still reading, but I plan on finishing it this week. But this is what I have read so far…..

Dead in the Family (Sookie Stackhouse, #10)

Dead in the Family by Charlaine Harris 

Sookie Stackhouse # 10

Purpose: Complete a Series

4 stars 

Honestly, I wasn’t sure what to expect. Especially since I wasn’t too impressed with the last book. But, surprisingly, I enjoyed this installment. Yeah, a part of me is glad that I am coming to the end of the series. But with Dead in the Family everything and everyone seems to be connected. All of the issues that came up are family related. Eric has to deal with his maker and brother. Bill is reunited with an old family -like friend, and is able to address his human family. Sookie is mending fences with her brother  and cousin, as well as other family. Even the werewolves have to deal with internal issues.  But even in the background, a storm is brewing. I can’t wait to see how it all plays out.

Sister Sister

Sister, Sister by Sue Fortin

Purpose: Review/Buddy Read

4 stars 

Full Review on the blog

Torched

Torched by April Henry 

Purpose: Read an Author’s Backlist

2 Stars 

I really wanted to like this book. Henry is an author that I respect because of all the work she puts into her books. I have also enjoyed the books that she co-written by Lis Wiehl. I did enjoy her debut book Shock Point. But this one was a bit disappointing. It was a short book, but it still took a while for me to get through. It was slow and boring. The entire situation with Ellie and the FBI was unrealistic and Henry didn’t make a believer out of me. Ellie and Coyote gets an undeserved happily ever after. And though she hardly knows him, her experience with the lynx has convinced  Ellie that she loves Coyote. Umm….no.

City of Wolves

City of Wolves by Willow Palecek 

Purpose: A Random Pick

3.5 Stars 

This was a nice quick read. It was super short, and for the most part the shortness worked in its favor. Drake appeared to be operating on insider information that we, as readers, are not privy too. This made following the murder mystery harder to follow. This also means that we have to trust the conclusions Drake comes to explicitly. But, I did enjoy this story.

True to You (Bradford Sisters #1)

True to You by Becky Wade 

Bradford Sisters #1

Purpose: PW Review

3 Stars 

Dead Reckoning (Sookie Stackhouse, #11)

Dead Reckoning by Charlaine Harris 

Sookie Stackhouse #11

Purpose: Complete a Series

3 Stars

Okay, so there’s only 2 more books left in the series. I have mixed feelings about this. Once again death and drama surround Sookie. it’s her reaction that I find annoying. This time she plotted and planned and knew that it had to be done.  And yet, she is reacting as if this is the first time she’s had to face it. At this point, if she can’t handle it she need to cut ties and be done with it. But we also learn more about Sookie and her ties to the fairies. It is an interesting history, and I am curious to find out what the fairies are up to.

Binti (Binti, #1)

Binti By Nnedi Okorafor 

Binti #1

4 Stars 

Review will be on the Women of Science Fiction and Fantasy Blog

2 thoughts on “So Far Saturday…….2/18

  1. We’re at about the same place in the series (I’m set to read DitF) and it sounds like we feel similarly about whether or not to persist (but, so many books in already – one wants to finish to see what happens). This is one of the few instances in which I prefer the on-screen-version of the character to the author’s idea of character (Sookie on the page drives me crazy – she’s so inconsistent – while on the screen AP manages to make her seem believably inconsistent at least)!

    • That’s pretty much the only reason that I have continued on with the series. Since I have made it this close to the end of it, I may as well finish it. I did DNF The Morganville Vampires and House of Night series. But with this one, I’ve already invested so much time. I am currently listening to Dead in the Family. It has its moments, but nothing that would be considered a wow factor. I decided to wait to watch the series until I finished reading it, and I am glad that I did.

Leave a Reply

