First Impressions: The Blue Enchantress

The Blue Enchantress (Charles Towne Belles, #2)

First Impressions: The Blue Enchantress by M.L. Tyndall

Charles Towne Belles #2

2009- Ransom Press

Source: Netgalley

I was given a copy of this title, free, in exchange for my honest opinion.

This is another old Netgalley title. In fact, this is one of the first ones that I ever requested.  If I had read this when I first received it, I probably would have finished it. Chances are I would have even enjoyed it. It is an inspirational romance, so I am certain that it all works out and that there’s faith lessons sprinkled throughout the story. Captain Nathaniel Mason seems like a nice enough guy, a good Christian man. But Hope Westcott? She is immediately weak and unlikable. Was this Tyndall’s intention? I am not so sure.  There is a vast difference between being vulnerable (I love when the female lead is strong yet vulnerable) and weak (weak doesn’t look good on anybody). Mason gives up everything -the ship that he built himself- to save Westcott from being auctioned off as a slave. A predicament that she got herself in. He secures a passage home by working on another vessel.  Her thanks is to flirt with another crew member right in front of Mason. This is even after she admits to herself that she needs to secure Mason’s affection. I don’t like Westcott. I think that she’s manipulative, at best naiive and at worst completely stupid. The writing and promise of adventure would make this an easy book to sink into. But the female lead, Hope Westcott, makes it impossible for me to want to.

Always Shine!

Leave a Reply

