Review: The Secrets You Keep

secrets you keep

The Secrets You Keep by Kate White

March 21, 2017 – Harper Paperbacks

Fiction, Psychological Thriller, Adult

Purpose: Review

Source: Requested from the publisher

2 stars

I was given a copy of this book, free, in exchange for my honest opinion,

Bryn Harper is recently recovering from a car accident that she can’t remember. She is now living full time with her husband of two years. What was once a working commuter relationship is now beginning to fray around the edges. When the chef from the catering company hired for a dinner party ends up dead, Bryn’s world begins to come undone and the man she thought she knew reveals himself as a stranger.

First, I want to say that I really like the idea of this story. It was what caught my eye and caused me to reach out to the publishing company for the chance to review it.  Unfortunately, I have to admit that I found that the writing was a bit formulaic and it was easy to predict what was going to happen. Within the first 50 pages, I was aware that there was something off. Either Bryn had to know more than what she was saying or the author, White, was working overly hard to make us look in a certain direction.  Psychological thrillers, if done correctly, will leave me questioning everything that I had assumed to know about what was happening in the book. With this story though, I could spot what the author was doing immediately. Psyc Thrillers work the same as magic, it is a subtle nudge to look in one direction while the truth lies in the other.  With this book though, the author heavy-handedly told where to look. This made me look in the opposite direction. Because of this, I knew the big reveal almost 300 pages before it happened.

With that being sad, I continued reading, because it was interesting to watch Bryn flail desperately throughout the rest of the story. I wanted to see how the messages of her dreams played out in the full scale of the mystery. Again, that was disappointing. And the ending? The most disappointing of all. The story unravels and then ends. But then as an afterthought, White adds a chapter to tie up all of the loose ends still hanging around at the end of the story. Not only that, but even after all that Bryn has been through we see about to make the same choice/mistake that she made to get her in the position she was originally in. You would think that she would have learned more from her experience and attempt to be a bit more cautious. You would think that she would not immediately jump from one stranger to the next, and yet. She does.

If I hadn’t picked up another book by White, I would confidently say that I wouldn’t read her again. But, I came across one of her older titles for a steal of a dollar and couldn’t pass on it. So, maybe I will ty her again a little while from now and see if The Secrets You Keep was just a fluke.

Always Shine!

 

Leave a Reply

